DeBoer fumes, Herbstreit confused over controversial penalty: ‘It’s an incorrect call’
Alabama had a fourth-quarter touchdown vs. Oklahoma on Saturday overturned by the apparent misapplication of a rule.
With 14:07 left in the game and the Crimson Tide trailing 24-3, Jalen Milroe threw 34 yards to a leaping Ryan Williams in the end zone for what looked like a touchdown. However, a flag flew in and negated the score.
Williams was called for “illegal touching,” because officials ruled he was “covered up” by another receiver on the line of scrimmage — freshman Caleb Odom — who was closer to the sideline, making him an ineligible receiver. The play resulted in a loss of down, which gave the ball back to Oklahoma because it occurred on fourth down.
Among others, ABC analyst Kirk Herbstreit disagreed with the call, saying “I personally don’t see the cover-up there. … I’ve got two (receivers) in the backfield and one up on the line of scrimmage. … It’s an incorrect call.”
Alabama coach Kalen DeBoer argued the call vociferously, but to no avail. Oklahoma eventually punted, but ran another four minutes off the clock before giving the Crimson Tide ball on its 1-yard line.
Here’s video:
It was the second touchdown Williams had overturned in the game, as his 41-yard scoring reception in the first quarter was nullified after replay review revealed he stepped out of bounds at the 11. Alabama eventually settled for a field goal.
DeBoer and Herbstreit weren’t the only ones who reacted with shock and surprise at the call: